Lebanon Fire awards its team

The Lebanon Fire District held its annual awards banquet on Friday, April 15, at Boulder Falls Event Center.

John Tacy and Joseph Rodondi

Fire Chief Joseph Rodondi handed out several awards, including a Fire Chief’s Commendation award to Division Chief of Operations John Tacy. He received the award for selfless commitment to the District and community during the past 35 years. LFD states Chief Tacy has worked countless hours for the past two years interpreting best practices, legal matters, providing feedback, and offering guidance during the COVID-19 pandemic. He handled the monumental increase in responsibility and work, in addition to his normal duties, always placing the District’s needs before his own.

Chief Rodondi also handed out a unit citation to the members of Lebanon Fire District’s technical rescue team that responded to a climber who was stuck on Wolf Rock for 20 hours. They helped a neighboring department in the rescue and successfully brought the climber down off the mountain safely. The members that were recognized were Division Chief Mark Fitzwater, Lieutenant Russell Duerr, Engineer Jason Adamson, Engineer Jason Carroll, Firefighter Michael Perkins, and Firefighter Daniel Crumley.

Two employees were recognized for their long years of service with the Lebanon Fire District. Lieutenant Randy Ringheimer has given 25 years of service to the District and Lieutenant Brent Gaskey has served for 30 years.

2021 Award Winners were:

Rookie of the Year- Firefighter Justin Parazoo
Intern of the Year- Intern Dylan Jorgensen
Support Volunteer of the Year- Tim Hutchins
Community Service Award- Lieutenant Russell Duerr
EMS Award- Firefighter Michael Perkins
Volunteer Firefighter of the Year- Firefighter Gerrit Wiebe
Career Firefighter of the Year- Firefighter Jamin Hooley
Volunteer Officer of the Year- Lieutenant Scott Wilkerson
Career Officer of the Year- Lieutenant Erin Nunes
Outstanding Volunteer Member of the Year- Firefighter Greg Chaffin
Outstanding Career Member of the Year- Engineer Jason Adamson