Lebanon Fire District awards: Bob Berry honored for 60 years of service

The Lebanon Fire District hosted a record 160 guests at its annual awards banquet held April 6 at the Boulder Fall’s Event Center.

LFD celebrates and recognizes those in the district who have made a significant contribution or performed above and beyond the call of duty over the past year.

Among the awards, which are handed out every year, was a very special recognition for years of service. Volunteer Capt. Bob Berry has been with the district for 60 years.

Although Berry no longer responds to fight fire, he is still an integral part of drill night and training.

Special recognition also went to two local businesses who displayed an exceptional commitment to fire and life safety over the past year. Nick Brooks and Spencer Headley were recognized on behalf of Weyerhaeuser Santiam Mill for their fire safety efforts and Art Boykin and Bo Yates were recognized on behalf of the Lebanon Community School District.

A highlight of the night was when the Bob Berry Outstanding Career Member award was presented to Fire Chief Gordon Sletmoe for his leadership and vision which has led the district to become one of the most progressive, professional, and innovative fire departments in the state.   This year the award was presented by Sletmoe’s sons, Ben and Kyle, who were guests at the banquet.

The following district members were also recognized:

Support Volunteer of the Year  – Kim Rhoads;

Rookie of the Year – Cody Manzi;

Intern of the Year – Brett Doshier;

Jeff Cole Memorial Volunteer Officer of the Year – Scott Wilkerson;

Jeff Cole Memorial Career Officer of the Year – Brett Kibble;

Bob Berry Outstanding Volunteer Member Award – Daniel Crumley;

Bruce Parton Community Service Award – Erin Nunes;

Albert J. Smith Career Firefighter of the Year – Bryce Maclennan;

Albert J. Smith Volunteer Firefighter of the Year – Timothy Crowe; and

Glenn “Pappy” Yocum Memorial EMS Award – Jamin Hooley.

Years of Service Award recipients were:

Five Years – Michael Schrader, Jeff King and Joy Chase;

10 Years – Desiree Barringer, Corey Knipstein, John Dunworth and Russell Duerr;

15 Years – Dan Hartman and Mark Kroll;

20 Years – Stacy Porchia and Jeremy Porchia;

25 Years – John Paul Crowe and Brett Kibble;

30 Years – Annette Duerr; and

60 years – Bob Berry.